Heart Attack in a Polystyrene Box

Scotland isn’t well known for its cuisine… Aside from haggis, there aren’t many “delicacies” you’d immediately associate with the place. Yet there is one very special category of foods everyone should taste at least once – deep fried goodies.

With this post I set myself the challenge of trying every kind of deep fried food served in an average Scottish chippy. Fish & chips, deep fried Mars bar and pakora – check, but I still have a long way to go… can’t wait to try deep fried pizza, burgers, sausage and more, mmm!

The photo to the left is a fine example of a so-called King Rib (devoured by my friend Miss Working Journalist). “Sweet, juicy, barbequey bits of pork all mushed together,” she describes it as. Well, I tried and tested and here’s my verdict: “Interesting mix of flavours but not something I’d hurry back to the chippy for.”

– Miss Red

Leave a Reply

