Apple Pie Recipe – In Honour of British Pie Week

My highlight of the week was when a friend turned to me for recipe advice and deemed me her cooking guru. To me, this is a compliment of the highest calibre.

I’ve always liked helping mum prepare family meals. She’s one of those women who never seem to get anything wrong in the kitchen. Unfortunately, I’ve yet to learn not to mess up sometimes… But I keep trying, and so it was that on the eve of International Women’s Day I found myself preparing an apple pie in honour of British Pie Week and our office bake off.

The apple pie in all its glory

After a few successful tries last summer, I decided it was high time I baked “my” special apple pie again. Unfortunately, this time I had to make do with Tesco apples not hand-picked ones from the garden… No matter what apples you use, part of the fun is always the delicious smell wafting from the oven. Here’s the recipe if you ever fancy giving it a go. I like to think it’s a somewhat healthy desert because it uses yogurt instead of a heavy cream.

Ingredients

Shortcrust pastry (I’m lazy and use the ready-made kind)

8 Medium Apples

350ml Plain Yogurt

50ml Milk

2 Eggs

Cinnamon to taste

Sugar to taste

1 tsp Vanilla Extract

Instructions

Pre-heat your oven to 200°C.

Prepare your apples by peeling them and chopping them into bite-sized pieces.

Rub a baking tin with butter and line it with the shortcrust pastry. Leave some pastry aside for decorating your pie.

Scatter the apples in the pastry-lined baking tray. Douse them in sugar and cinnamon, then give them a good stir.

Beat the yogurt, milk and eggs into a mixture. Add the vanilla extract.

Cover the apples with the milky mass.

Use the leftover pastry to make a lattice across the apple mixture. Rub the pastry with butter or egg to keep it from burning.

Bung it into the oven for 35-45mins and voila!

My flatmate Miss Bulgaria approved

Eat it on its own or enjoy it with a dollop of vanilla ice cream or custard. Delicious!

Let me know how it goes if you attempt baking “my” apple pie.

– Miss Red

Leave a Reply

